Connect with us

UGA Football

Dominick Sanders named to 2016 Bednarik Award Watch List

Dominick Sanders
Photo: Sean Taylor/UGA

UGA junior safety Dominick Sanders has been named to the 2016 Bednarik Award Watch List, the Maxwell Football Club announced on Tuesday.

The Bednarik Award, named after Chuck Bednarik, is an annual award given to the college football defensive player of the year.

Last season, Leonard Floyd and Jordan Jenkins were both named to the Bednarik Watch List. Temple linebacker Tyler Matakevich was later named the recipient of the 2015 award.

Semifinalists for the 2016 Bednarik Award will be announced on Monday, Oct. 31, followed by the three finalists on Monday, Nov. 21. The winner of the 2016 Bednarik Award will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, Dec. 8, 2016.

Dominick Sanders, who hails from from Tucker, Georgia, has 82 total tackles for the Bulldogs (50 solo, 32 assisted). He also has nine interceptions, one for a touchdown, and one fumble recovery.

More in UGA Football