Connect with us

UGA Football

Roquan Smith, Trent Thompson named to 2017 Bednarik Award Watch List

Roquan Smith
Photo: Jim Hipple/UGA

UGA junior linebacker Roquan Smith and junior defensive tackle Trent Thompson have been named to the 2017 Bednarik Award Watch List, the Maxwell Football Club has announced.

The Bednarik Award is named after Chuck Bednarik and is an annual award given to the college football defensive player of the year.

Last season, defensive back Dominick Sanders was named to the Bednarik Award Watch List.

Semifinalists for the 2017 Bednarik Award will be announced on Monday, Oct. 30, followed by the three finalists on Monday, Nov. 20. The winner of the 2017 Bednarik Award will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, Dec. 7, 2017.

Roquan Smith, who hails from from Montezuma, Georgia, had 95 total tackles in 2016 (52 solo, 43 assisted). He also forced two fumbles and recovered one.

Trent Thompson is from Albany, Georgia. Last season, he had 56 total tackles (24 solo, 32 assisted) and five sacks for a loss of 39 yards.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in UGA Football