Connect with us

UGA Football

Dominick Sanders named semifinalist for 2017 Thorpe Award

UGA Football: Dominick Sanders
Photo: John Kelley/UGA

Georgia Bulldogs senior safety Dominick Sanders has been named a semifinalist for the 2017 Paycom Jim Thorpe Award, the Jim Thorpe Museum and Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame (OSHOF) have announced.

The Jim Thorpe Award is an annual award presented “to the best defensive back in college football based on performance on the field, athletic ability and character.”


Dominick Sanders hails from from Tucker, Georgia. So far this season, he has 14 tackles (9 solo, 5 assisted) and two interceptions.

Below are all 13 semifinalists for the 2017 Paycom Jim Thorpe Award:

Marcus Allen, Penn State
Quin Blanding, Virginia
Jalen Davis, Utah State
DeShon Elliott, Texas
Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama
Grant Haley, Penn State
Derwin James, Florida State
Jeremy McDuffie, Duke
Parry Nickerson, Tulane
Justin Reid, Stanford
Dominick Sanders, Georgia
Levi Wallace, Alabama
Denzel Ward, Ohio State

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in UGA Football